Czech Republic requires arrivals from the Balearic Islands to show negative COVID-19 test results and self-isolate

The Czech Republic has updated the measures that apply to arrivals from other European Union member states and Schengen associated countries, based on data on infection rates in the countries obtained by the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC).

According to the new change in measures, from Monday February 22, arrivals from the Spanish Balearic Islands will move to the red category of countries, while the Portuguese Azores will be placed in the orange category.

When announcing the measures, the Czech Ministry of Health noted that arrivals from the Balearic Islands and all countries in the red category are required to present COVID-19 test results upon arrival in the Czech Republic, at side of the arrival form.

The test results may be from an antigen test less than 24 hours old or a PCR test less than 72 hours old.

Despite the tests, self-isolation for arrivals from areas in this category remains an obligation. On the fifth day of self-isolation, each traveler is required to take another PCR test, and those who test negative again are free to leave isolation.

Currently, in this category, alongside the Balearic Islands, there are also the following countries:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • France (excluding overseas departments)
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxemburg
  • Malta
  • the Netherlands (excluding overseas)
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Spanish Canary Islands
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

Countries with worse COVID-19 situation than those listed above are those marked in dark red. Arrivals from these countries, however, are subject to the same entry measures as those in the red category.

In the orange category, where the Azores have been placed, there are also Finland, Greece, Denmark and Norway due to a better situation on their territory.

Passengers returning to the Czech Republic from countries in the orange category must complete the arrival form before return and at the same time submit the result of the antigen (maximum 24 hours) or PCR test (maximum 72 hours),”, explains the Ministry of Health, which means that arrivals from these areas are not subject to self-isolation.

Finally, in the green category are placed the countries for which there is no entry restriction. These are Iceland, the Vatican City State and, non-EU countries, Australia, South Korea, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand.

The Czech Republic has detected 1,168,491 cases of COVID-19 on its territory since the start of the pandemic last year. 19,537 people have died from the virus, and 1,028,131 have recovered, while the country currently has 120,823 active cases.